Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    TDF Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Nottingham
    Posts
    50
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    7

    different 1st stages on twin 12s

    Hi
    I'[ve just got a question about the 1st stages one dives with - I personally use two xstreams but I have a mate who also dives using xstreams but he's got 2 different first stages on his tank.

    my question is why ? what reasons are there for doing this , is it something to do with the spare reg ?

    just to be clear on this I'm not planning to change my rig, i'm just curious

    Alex

  2. #2
    TDF Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    69
    Likes (Given)
    33
    Likes (Received)
    22
    Maybe that's just what he happened to have available

  3. #3
    TDF Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Nottingham
    Posts
    50
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by Cryptic View Post
    Maybe that's just what he happened to have available
    oh no he has kit coming out of his ears - his advice to me on mixing 1st & 2nd stages was yes you can and i do it, but don't...

  4. #4
    Established TDF Member Chris Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Doncaster
    Posts
    593
    Likes (Given)
    162
    Likes (Received)
    190
    Personally, I wouldn't do it.

    My OCD won't let me use different regs!

  5. #5
    Gas guzzling fat bloke
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    220
    Likes (Given)
    25
    Likes (Received)
    70

    different 1st stages on twin 12s

    He needs to be careful if the second stages aren't "matched" with the first - some manufacturers use different interstage pressures and it could cause a problem, most likely a free flow

    Not sure if that's what you mean or not


    Sent from my iPhone by swearing at Tapatalk until it did nothing like what I wanted

  6. #6
    yd refugee Richie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Ballywalter Co Down
    Posts
    157
    Likes (Given)
    8
    Likes (Received)
    51
    Early Xstreams have poor hose routing - maybe your mate just lost patience

  7. #7
    TDF Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Nottingham
    Posts
    50
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by Richie View Post
    Early Xstreams have poor hose routing - maybe your mate just lost patience
    i'm on xsxtream deep mk3 and i haven't had a drama with house routing at all.

    Quote Originally Posted by swampy View Post
    He needs to be careful if the second stages aren't "matched" with the first - some manufacturers use different interstage pressures and it could cause a problem, most likely a free flow

    Not sure if that's what you mean or not

    I was more thinking what purposes would using a different 1st stage on each reg (same model) serve ?

  8. #8
    Established TDF Member nigel hewitt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Brighton, at the Marina end.
    Posts
    2,872
    Likes (Given)
    527
    Likes (Received)
    2109
    I certainly don't see a problem with this. If they were suitable for the conditions I would pick the reg that happened to route the hoses most cleanly and the two sides could well be different.
    Helium, because I'm worth it.
    Waterboarding at Guantanamo Bay sounded like a radical holiday opportunity until I looked it up.

  9. #9
    Gas guzzling fat bloke
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    220
    Likes (Given)
    25
    Likes (Received)
    70

    different 1st stages on twin 12s

    None that I can think of - it's not like it's gonna have a design floor that would cause both to fail together

    I used to run a Sherwood Maximus and a cyclon together on the same twinset but that was because it was all I had


    Sent from my iPhone by swearing at Tapatalk until it did nothing like what I wanted

  10. #10
    TDF Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Chalfont St Peter
    Posts
    111
    Likes (Given)
    23
    Likes (Received)
    27
    Cost? Creating a twinset rig aint cheap, I ran a scubapro MK17 A-clamp and MK25 DIN on my twinset for 8 months and it felt like it was the walk of shame to the waters edge .. Finally replaced out the MK17 to another MK25 DIN and it looks very neat..


 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •