Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Exclamation Scooter for disabled diver - advice required

Hello,

We have someone who is going through pool training just now that lost a leg in active service. He is very comfortable in the water but will require a scooter to improve his mobility and as I have no experience of these I would like to get some recommendations.

I have looked at Bladefish so far (the person's budget is 500) and I do have an offer of an second hand Apollo that will fit this person's budget. Does anybody else know of someone who has a second hand scooter or something else that will fit this person's budget.

Thanks for any help!
    Like Cave Diving? - see www.fb.me/CaveDivingFilms
    A few videos of dives I have done over the last few years - Scotland, Wales and Egypt | www.youtube.com/Stirlingscuba

I need to go diving... Intranicity's Avatar
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)
    Swim gloves are much cheaper, that's what we use. I know that doesn't answer your question, but might be worth suggesting
    Opinions are like assholes, just some smell more than others!

Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)
    We had someone who used to come over who had no use of her legs (spinal operation went wrong), so hubby towed her around on an Apollo AV-1. It was plenty powerful enough to tow both of them, even in a bit of a current, so for one guy it would be fine.

There is a mod to make to them that makes life a lot easier, you can add a 'tow ring' to the prop shroud, so you don't need to hang on, it pulls the BCD/wing (obviously this is best with something that has a decent crotch strap.

Sorry, I don't know of anyone selling one, but the Apollo you have been offered should do him fine (assuming it is the AV-1, rather than the crazy 'sit on' AV-2 version). Just do a burn test and drop test on the battery, to make sure it is in OK condition.
    Sean