Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
    New TDF Member
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

BSAC Trainee Frustrations

HI All

I just wanted to air a trainee frustration into the cosmos

I am currently a BSAC Ocean Diver Trainee and have been for almost 3 years now .... yes 3 years. I know that Covid and lockdown had an effect on this but still .... 3 years !!!!

I am getting my training from a local club so it is all volunteer based, because of this i don't feel like i can really complain hense my posting today.

Wibbly wobbly, timey wimey time

Back in the good old days before Covid was a thing circa October 2018 my hubby and I came to the realisation that there was no reason why we coudn't start scuba diving ..... hubby wanted to take off abroad and do a course somewhere hot but silly me said we should do it here in sunny England so we can dive all year round. As Hubby is very well trained he agreed :wink: (yes i have had a lot of I told you so's) so we contacted a local club and set off for a test dive and LOVED it and so our adventure into Scuba started.

Little did i know that 3 years on, instead of loading up the car on a weekend and going and diving any muddy puddle we can find - Hubby is Ocean Diver trained but with no further experience diving and I am still a trainee.

I have completed all the "classroom stuff" and have 98% of the skills signed off but i have found that our local club isn't taking tranees out enough (2-3 time this year) and i do not forsee any more trainee dives in the near furture.

So cosmos here is my quandry..... do I
    A. Search for a new club and hope it is better there - next nearest one is 1hr and 30 min (ish) away
    B. Search for a BSAC instructor who will do a intensive trainee course with me
    C. Dump BSAC all together and switch to SSI or PADI