Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 28
  1. #11
    TDF Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    218
    Likes (Given)
    98
    Likes (Received)
    117
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuart Keasley View Post
    Eh?
    :-) Think about it - how are you going to repeat all the 100Mbps traffic to the 10Mbps ports? You can't, ergo your "hub" has to be a switch.

    At a workshop set up by a now long-forgotten IPS vendor I learned this when the sensors weren't seeing every packet on the 'hub'. Not the learning experience I was expecting but a useful one!

  2. #12
    TDF Member topper133's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    192
    Likes (Given)
    58
    Likes (Received)
    47
    I don't agree, through autosensing all NICs will end up using a common speed (basically the slowest capable NIC on the hub), you don't have a 100mbps devices throwing out at a 100 and then a 10mbps devices trying to receive it all. Given 10mpbs only NICs haven't been sold for like 30 years it's failry safe to say all his cards are 10/100 at least and the common hub speed is 100mpbs (half duplex!).

  3. #13
    Sir Logun
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Behind you!
    Posts
    2,787
    Likes (Given)
    752
    Likes (Received)
    945
    Stop messing round and just replace it - if youre upgrading from something that old then youre going to see a massive improvement in network performance anyway (assuming your PC's aren't all that old too!)


    Assuming that youre not needing a managed switch (if youre currently using a real hub then you wont), and want something to sit on a desktop rather than rackmount then this should do the job nicely:
    https://www.amazon.co.uk/TP-LINK-TL-...mputers&sr=1-2
    Quote Originally Posted by steelemonkey View Post
    I hereby decree that all on this site should now refer to you as Sir Logun.

  4. #14
    Cheeky Monkey... Paul Evans's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Three Bridges
    Posts
    2,431
    Likes (Given)
    3815
    Likes (Received)
    965
    Quote Originally Posted by Logun View Post
    (assuming your PC's aren't all that old too!)
    Assumptition is the mother of all fook ups.....

    You would do well to remember that Fin is tighter than a Nats Chuff.
    “Attitude is a choice. Happiness is a choice. Optimism is a choice. Kindness is a choice. Giving is a choice. Respect is a choice. Whatever choice you make makes you. Choose wisely.”
    Roy T. Bennett, The Light in the Heart

  5. #15
    Established TDF Member Finless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    5,700
    Likes (Given)
    2954
    Likes (Received)
    1170
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Evans View Post
    Assumptition is the mother of all fook ups.....

    You would do well to remember that Fin is tighter than a Nats Chuff.
    Poorer, not tighter.

    Prefer to repair than replace - save the Planet and all that.

  6. #16
    TDF Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    218
    Likes (Given)
    98
    Likes (Received)
    117
    Quote Originally Posted by topper133 View Post
    I don't agree
    OK. But I'm telling you - at least with regard to those Netgear devices - that the (reasonable) assumption that "Hub" means "Definitely-no-switching-going-on-here-no-sir" is mistaken.

    I'm not sure this is helping Finless much :-)

  7. #17
    Established TDF Member Finless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    5,700
    Likes (Given)
    2954
    Likes (Received)
    1170
    Quote Originally Posted by Logun View Post
    Stop messing round and just replace it - if youre upgrading from something that old then youre going to see a massive improvement in network performance anyway (assuming your PC's aren't all that old too!)


    Assuming that youre not needing a managed switch (if youre currently using a real hub then you wont), and want something to sit on a desktop rather than rackmount then this should do the job nicely:
    https://www.amazon.co.uk/TP-LINK-TL-...mputers&sr=1-2
    Had to bite the bullet - not quite as cheap (£55) as the Amazon one but available from my local back street PC Emporium and Fixers but immediate and already in and working. Just need to fabricate a bracket to mount it on the wall and the jobs a good one.


  8. #18
    TDF Member topper133's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    192
    Likes (Given)
    58
    Likes (Received)
    47
    hows the fan noise?

    2000mbps! marketing b****ks!

  9. #19
    Established TDF Member Finless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    5,700
    Likes (Given)
    2954
    Likes (Received)
    1170
    Quote Originally Posted by topper133 View Post
    hows the fan noise?
    I don't have any .... oh, I see, I can't hear a thing. Does it have one?

    2000mbps! marketing b****ks!
    It's no slower than my previous one so I'm happy.

    I brought my soldering iron into work today ready to attach the plug to a new doner mains converter (is that what they are called).

  10. #20
    bottlefish Stuart Keasley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    London (sometimes)
    Posts
    1,990
    Likes (Given)
    1201
    Likes (Received)
    1442
    Quote Originally Posted by OrangeHead View Post
    :-) Think about it - how are you going to repeat all the 100Mbps traffic to the 10Mbps ports? You can't, ergo your "hub" has to be a switch.

    At a workshop set up by a now long-forgotten IPS vendor I learned this when the sensors weren't seeing every packet on the 'hub'. Not the learning experience I was expecting but a useful one!
    A hub doesn't send the data signal all the way down to the NIC (at least not since token ring networks), the speed negotiation to computer is seperate to the internal speed of the hub.
    Last edited by Stuart Keasley; 20-06-2019 at 10:38 PM.
    Please visit bottlefish for my personal web site, Quay Cameras to chat to me about the cameras and kit that I sell


 
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •