Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Go Pro Info

  1. #1
    TDF Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Milton Keynes
    Posts
    76
    Likes (Given)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    9

    Go Pro Info

    Hi all

    I'm finally going to switch to a GoPro going for a Hero 4 Black, I know I'm well behind the times lol.

    Having looked at the official web site and a few others, I can't find anything saying whether you need a SD card or if it's supplied so the question is, do you get one or do I need to buy one?

    It's very possible I just can't see the wood for the trees!

    Many thanks.

  2. #2
    TDF Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Surrey
    Posts
    216
    Likes (Given)
    131
    Likes (Received)
    30
    You need to buy a micro SD card yourself. Make sure it is Class 10 and ideally something faster. I have had problems with some cheap class 10 cards. Only use the Sandisk extreme ones now. List of supported cards is here http://gopro.com/support/articles/so...update-release

  3. #3
    Established TDF Member Energy58's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Oman
    Posts
    1,579
    Likes (Given)
    249
    Likes (Received)
    408
    Quote Originally Posted by Poacher View Post
    Hi all

    I'm finally going to switch to a GoPro going for a Hero 4 Black, I know I'm well behind the times lol.

    Having looked at the official web site and a few others, I can't find anything saying whether you need a SD card or if it's supplied so the question is, do you get one or do I need to buy one?

    It's very possible I just can't see the wood for the trees!

    Many thanks.
    You need to buy a card - just dont bother with bargain ones! I have not had any issues with any from proper manufacturers that claim they are compatible with full HD Video but there was a period (about 3 years ago) when GoPros were very fussy about what cards you used. Safest to stick with the approved list

    In passing - do you really need a Black? The Silver has better specs than the old 3+ Black which itself was plenty good enough for most folk and you could save a packet of money in the process. The silver also has the LCD screen built in - the Black is aimed at the pro market and has more bells and whistles in terms of tuning the image and shooting very HD video modes (like 4k - and you are going to be able to watch that on what precisely???). Both still munch through batteries though

  4. #4
    Established TDF Member matt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    London
    Posts
    4,150
    Likes (Given)
    976
    Likes (Received)
    1236
    I went for the Silver, as I wanted the LCD screen without buying a new back and a case. It would be useless without it.

    I bought 2 of these, work well: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00IJYG78...986871_TE_item

    Matt.

  5. #5
    TDF Member Jim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Sharm el Sheikh, Egypt
    Posts
    90
    Likes (Given)
    72
    Likes (Received)
    33
    I found a GoPro 4 Silver on a dive this week, who would've guessed a 40m rated housing would be intact at 105m after nearly 10 months!
    Very Impressive

  6. #6
    Established TDF Member matt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    London
    Posts
    4,150
    Likes (Given)
    976
    Likes (Received)
    1236
    Quote Originally Posted by Jim View Post
    I found a GoPro 4 Silver on a dive this week, who would've guessed a 40m rated housing would be intact at 105m after nearly 10 months!
    Very Impressive
    Any good video?


 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •