Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register
Page 7 of 36 FirstFirst ... 5678917 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 70 of 359

Thread: Windows 10

  1. #61
    Established TDF Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Isle of Mull
    Posts
    782
    Likes (Given)
    369
    Likes (Received)
    392
    This has just popped up in my taskbar as well. Reading the blurb, it says that I can "multi task like a master, with the ability to snap up to four things on the screen at once." Now the language barrier might be a problem for me, but is that really saying that a master multi tasker reaches nirvana at four windows open at the same time? Things have really gone downhill since 3.1 haven't they?

    And there's an all new browser? What? After what seems like 40 years of bloating IE they are starting all over again? Wonder how many holes this one will have in it?

    Not for me, thanks.

  2. #62
    Established TDF Member Iain Smith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Cornwall
    Posts
    2,501
    Likes (Given)
    1312
    Likes (Received)
    1553
    Quote Originally Posted by Tens View Post
    it says that I can "multi task like a master, with the ability to snap up to four things on the screen at once."
    Sounds like MS have finally caught up with Acer GridVista - a piece of freeware which has been around for years which allows the user to snap up to four windows on each of two screens (with room for further expansion, IIRC).

  3. #63
    All hail ZOM Woz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    5,145
    Likes (Given)
    114
    Likes (Received)
    2332
    Why would I need to snap 4 windows when I have dual 28" 4k monitors *smug*
    Views expressed here are my own and are not representative of any organisation. If you would like an official reply, I suggest you ask the question on a website the organisation is responsible for, or contact them directly using the phone.
    https://www.facebook.com/BSACChairmanWoz/

  4. #64
    TDF Member Sparky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    61
    Likes (Given)
    74
    Likes (Received)
    14
    Does anybody know what the system requirements are for windows 10, i have an oldish laptop that could not be upgraded to windows 7 due to graphics card, is windows 10 going to be the same?

  5. #65
    Remember, remember Adrian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Exeter
    Posts
    1,995
    Likes (Given)
    1088
    Likes (Received)
    768
    Quote Originally Posted by Sparky View Post
    Does anybody know what the system requirements are for windows 10, i have an oldish laptop that could not be upgraded to windows 7 due to graphics card, is windows 10 going to be the same?
    Very likely, but worth a compatibility test. I'm assuming there's a download to test that.

  6. #66
    Established TDF Member
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Colchester
    Posts
    1,313
    Likes (Given)
    1727
    Likes (Received)
    326
    So what's the upshot? Is it worth upgrading Win7 to Win10?

  7. #67
    Sorry for being a dick jb2cool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire
    Posts
    1,397
    Likes (Given)
    84
    Likes (Received)
    360
    No pressing need to do it instantly but eventually Win 7 will be out of support (Like XP is now) and you'll likely want something newer then.

    If you like ot have new features or you play games on the PC then Win 10 is goingot be good for you.

  8. #68
    Bewildered Nomad Phate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Portugal when not globetrotting!
    Posts
    3,915
    Likes (Given)
    1992
    Likes (Received)
    1299
    Quote Originally Posted by PhilPage View Post
    So what's the upshot? Is it worth upgrading Win7 to Win10?
    Yes, but not at first, let them iron out the bugs first. You can upgrade within the 1st year for completely free.

  9. #69
    Cancelled Account
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    3,659
    Likes (Given)
    4418
    Likes (Received)
    1897
    Blog Entries
    1
    There still appears to be no free option to do a clean install. The free offer is to upgrade over your current OS. It seems if you want to perform a clean install you will have to buy the disc from a retailer. I doubt it will be cheap.

  10. #70
    Bewildered Nomad Phate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Portugal when not globetrotting!
    Posts
    3,915
    Likes (Given)
    1992
    Likes (Received)
    1299
    Quote Originally Posted by braun View Post
    There still appears to be no free option to do a clean install. The free offer is to upgrade over your current OS. It seems if you want to perform a clean install you will have to buy the disc from a retailer. I doubt it will be cheap.
    Yes thats the case. The free bit is for upgrades only as it uses your existing license imprinted into your current OS.


 
Page 7 of 36 FirstFirst ... 5678917 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •