PDA

View Full Version : Looking at a possible career change. Is there work out there?

Brandane
19-01-2014, 02:36 PM
Hi all,

I did a scatter of years in the military before taking redundancy in 2012. Since then I've been running my own business doing property maintenance, bathroom fitting & home improvements among other stuff.

I enjoy it and it's going well but I'd love to do something different. I've been looking at the Professional Diving Academy website at some of the courses they offer. There's a huge variety and having not researched it fully yet I'm still learning what some of the codes and quals are.

My question to any commie divers on here is: is this a sensible and viable move. I've got the motivation and drive to complete the training and go looking for work and don't ever expect to just sit back and wait for the work to come to me. But is there work out there?

Also I'd probably look at just starting with inshore diving for the time being to gain experience in the industry before looking to move offshore. What types of training would I be best to look at completing to do the best in inshore diving?

Thanks

Dougie

Simon A
19-01-2014, 03:51 PM
You probably want to speak to some of the commercial divers, but my understanding is that it depends what other skills you bring to the table. Despite all the hype from the commercial diving schools, diving is just how you get to work, once you get there, you still need to be able to do the job....

londonsean69
19-01-2014, 05:35 PM
A guy I taught to dive went the commie route.

14k on courses and his first job was picking dead fish out of nets on a fish farm for 90 a day. That's not a good wage IMO, given he was self employed, so responsible for his PAYE, NI etc.
Over the course of around 3 years he worked fairly constantly, but never went offshore. Most of his work was in and around docks and harbours.

He is now back to truck driving, as there were too many people chasing too few jobs.