PDA

View Full Version : Ck12



JonG
21-10-2017, 01:04 PM
It's in the van and on its way to a new home!

Vanny
21-10-2017, 05:10 PM
Is that on its way to you or have you flogged it already?

JonG
22-10-2017, 08:27 AM
No it's my new acquisition been playing with it and servicing it last night and this morning.

Capt Morgan
22-10-2017, 12:47 PM
No it's my new acquisition been playing with it and servicing it last night and this morning.

Way to go :y:

Paulo
22-10-2017, 01:06 PM
Is this the new scent from Calvin Klein?

JonG
22-10-2017, 05:41 PM
Unit hasn't been dived in ten years going off test stickers but is in good nick.

I have changed o rings and regreased and installed new breathing hoses. Have fitted new orifice in gen 1 MAV, haven't been able to sort flow rate yet cos bought wrong spanners.

Amazingly the ADV seems ok as do mushroom valves.

Just taken out CL's to sterilise, is Milton ok for this?

I have new DS4's on it and have had to remove the manifold because cylinders were handed to suit 02 on right, unit was set up for o2 on left.

I have reworked hose routes to accommodate this which was planned anyway, but now dil first stage feeds hp gauge, wing, and ADV direct via a miflex hose and standard rubbers so think I will need an opv in first stage?

BOV is plumbed into off board bailout with suit and a second stage.

The handsets are original black triples but haven't come to life, I have used 1.5v N batteries but haven't opened or connected new cells yet and wasn't sure if they complete the circuit?

If they are knackered i do have a pursuit and hud with kidney on way back from service but triples would have been good back up/spare.

On The whole pleased with it and think I got a good deal.

Dry suit
Hollis reg with octopus and first stage
Undersuit
Heiser 3l dumpys and test
2 Poseidon first stages which will do for suit inflation and second stage bottle eventually
2 litre ally suit bottle and test
The unit with some spares
L.p. Hoses
Pressure gauges

All in 2.5k.

Turbanator
22-10-2017, 06:28 PM
I thought the batteries were about 12v.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Paulo
22-10-2017, 06:31 PM
I know nothing of the KISS but if the cells are needed to complete the circuit, that would be a design fault IMHO unless someone can convince me otherwise

JonG
22-10-2017, 06:35 PM
Just found out batteries are 12v!

Turbanator
22-10-2017, 08:14 PM
I know nothing of the KISS but if the cells are needed to complete the circuit, that would be a design fault IMHO unless someone can convince me otherwiseThe Kiss has 3 totally independent O2 analysers. As simple as the home made ones you can find plans for on the 'net, I.e. an LCD meter, power supply and a resistor bridge to do the sums. In it's simplest form, you could measure the output of the cell across a resistor (It's a current course,not a voltage source) and multiply the milivolts by a constant to give PO2, the resistor bridge just prevents you having to do sums underwater.

One of the resistors is trimmable to allow for the output changing as the cell ages. This used to be a source of annoyance to the more ham-fisted owners as they used to strip the threads when they took the plug out to perform this adjustment.

You can easily see lagging and aging cells as you're reading the meters in real time.
However, to address your original point, the failure of any one meter will not affect the other two (unless the head is totally flooded), so there is a good argument to say that if the cell is not there, the meter could be blank.
In fact it's not, it would read 00.0 in that event.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

ebt
22-10-2017, 08:15 PM
A23 12v batteries....

....and never use miltons on dive kit unless you like replacing gear. I use trigene from a vets suppliers, although Virkon is slightly better.

ps. paul, a display with no sensor will *not* read 0.00 unless you put a resistor/short across the input to the meter.

Turbanator
22-10-2017, 08:50 PM
ps. paul, a display with no sensor will *not* read 0.00 unless you put a resistor/short across the input to the meter.

I don't have a Kiss display to test anymore but my homemade one displays 0.

No current = no voltage, multiply that by zero and you'll get zero volts. The meter is not using the cell to complete the circuit, it's just a voltmeter seeing zero volts, so will display 0.

As I say, I've not had mine for several years now, perhaps the OP could indulge me with a little experiment when he gets the correct batteries.

Actually, just re-read your comment, are you saying that the display will be blank or that it will display some sort of floating voltage with no cell?

I think that despite there being resistors in the cell itself as I think that's how the temperature compensation works, there's still a resistor across the contacts of the meter, so with no cell it'll read zero.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Turbanator
22-10-2017, 09:01 PM
From the manual:

PPO2 READ OUT IS ZERO OR‐1:
If the read out is‐1 then sea water has come in contact with the circuit board and/or meter.Any parts that have
come in contact with sea water must be replaced.
If the read out is zero, then it could also be a dead sensor.

Granted not entirely conclusive.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

ebt
22-10-2017, 10:43 PM
Its just a DVM, if you float the inputs the amp will generate a small reading... (like 0.01x, depending on how the impedance matching is done)

the only way you get a real zero is to short the pins, hence the comment about the flooding you saw.

JonG
24-10-2017, 05:48 PM
Just fitted correct batteries and units are working, not booked up to cells yet but with power on the readout in each is -.000

ebt
24-10-2017, 08:11 PM
interesting!! my generation of displays floated....

guess I'll owe paul a pint then.

notdeadyet
24-10-2017, 09:32 PM
In it's simplest form, you could measure the output of the cell across a resistor (It's a current course,not a voltage source) and multiply the milivolts by a constant to give PO2, the resistor bridge just prevents you having to do sums underwater.

I did this for a while after I flooded a display and had to replace a meter. It's just a Lascar DPM but there is a (tiny) surface mount resistor that has to be desoldered from the board to make it work as a PPO2 meter. I couldn't be arsed (i.e. I knew I'd fuck it up) so just installed it as it came out of the bag as a pure voltmeter. R22D cells output in mV is almost half of what the O2 content is in % (eg. 100% oxygen at the surface would read ~50mV on the display, use the trim pot to get it bang on). It wasn't a hard calc to do underwater, just double the reading and move the decimal point to get ppo2. I dived it for a long time (years) like that. I only ever bothered fixing it when I went to sell it.

Turbanator
25-10-2017, 01:11 AM
interesting!! my generation of displays floated....

guess I'll owe paul a pint then.Mine was 146, so had mk2 displays I think.
They had optional backlights, but still required a plug rather than the twistable disk to trim.
Thty were all screwed to a perspex sheet rather than the 'chocolate block' style.


Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

WFO
01-11-2017, 02:06 PM
Its just a DVM, if you float the inputs the amp will generate a small reading... (like 0.01x, depending on how the impedance matching is done)

the only way you get a real zero is to short the pins, hence the comment about the flooding you saw.

Depends if they have a load resistor in the handset, if there is a load resistor in there then that will clamp the meter reading down to zero.