PDA

View Full Version : Shrimp BOV leaks on the JJ?

damianb
22-02-2016, 05:22 PM
I put this up on CCRX but thought that folk on here may also be able to offer their thoughts / experiences..

A couple of mates I know recently bought Shrimp BOV's for their JJ's. I have been considering buying one for my unit but I have heard a number of people experiencing water ingress in the loop, pre dive pos and neg tests come up OK yet there is still water. A few guys on CCRX believe it may be due to misfitting mouthpiece or the BOV switch being partly open.

Before I spend the money I wanted to see if there are any other thoughts? What are the JJ BOV's like, perhaps that's a viable solution?

Paul r s
22-02-2016, 05:38 PM
I've been using my shrimp for around 2 years and the only time I had a problems with water was with a split mouth piece.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

damianb
22-02-2016, 06:04 PM
Thanks Paul. This is promising. I wonder if the shrimp manufacturing process has changed or the new dive can JJs have different sized tubes that may not be a perfect fit with the new shrimps. Something is definitely up though. 3 or 4 folk on CCRX have the same ingress problem along with two guys I know. All recent purchases (JJs and shrimps)

MikeF
22-02-2016, 06:18 PM
I've been using my shrimp for around 2 years and the only time I had a problems with water was with a split mouth piece.

ditto. however I have heard of people having issues with the AP mouthpiece as the shrimp mouthpiece spigot is a different shape. I've had leaks using one cable tie but putting two on the opposite way round seals OK.

The JJ BOV was OK CC but shit (very) OC. get the shrimp. unless you want the lowest WOB BOV in which case.... nope sorry scratch that the JJ gas flow is the wrong way round.

Paul r s
22-02-2016, 06:23 PM
If they hold poss and neg then it must be during the barrel being turned to cc mode or leaky mouth piece

nickb
22-02-2016, 06:38 PM