PDA

View Full Version : Maintenance and servicing

BenL
11-09-2014, 09:40 PM
The Maintenance and Servicing sub-forum is sub-titled: "Some people have the skill and knowledge to service their own life support equipment and want to share that knowledge. Here is the place to discuss it." I love this - it's an excellent resource for those who a) like being in a shed surrounded by gear and tools, and b) are too tight to send their suit off for a cuff seal job.

The recent threads regarding booster pumps (I know - this was in the sales forum), removing cylinder valves and 1st stage servicing had me thinking about how many divers have an interest in how our equipment works. Indeed, is there any real requirement to know, beyond a basic "this is what it does, and here's how to look after it"? Some of us are engineers, either by trade or by hobby, and so might have an automatic urge to really understand what's going on inside our equipment, and why it does what it does. There will be a subset in here who are further minded to tinker with regulator internals, deco algorithm code, scooters, gas mixing, rebreather homebuilds; all of which require skills beyond those for simply going diving. I suspect that most divers aren't interested in what goes on under the bonnet - just as long as it gets them from A to B (and, presumably, back to A) and leave it to the pros to service their gear without worrying too much about the processes involved.

Over to you, TDF masses: Which camp do you fall into?

MikeF
11-09-2014, 10:01 PM
you're making this up, how can anyone not be interested in working out how the stuff that allows us to do what we do works and how to optimise it?

Jen - Winged Blob
11-09-2014, 10:02 PM