PDA

View Full Version : Feeling like a noob, difference between a dive computer and a bottom timer?

Phate
20-08-2014, 10:58 PM
Hi all,

Most of you know that while I'm a professional geek who's handy on a forum/good with clicking I'm still a young diver.

I've tried googling, but my google-fu has failed me.

Whats the difference between a bottom timer and a dive computer?

TIA
Jake

Woz
20-08-2014, 11:00 PM
Computer tracks your deco. Bottom timer is just a watch and depth gauge combined with a few bells and whistles.

Phate
20-08-2014, 11:03 PM
Computer tracks your deco. Bottom timer is just a watch and depth gauge combined with a few bells and whistles.

Cheers. What was throwing me was looking up the X-Deep online. Saying it was a bottom timer/computer. But then seen you can upgrade it from a BT to a Trimix computer via a software update...makes sense now.

Ta!

jb2cool
21-08-2014, 06:23 AM
If you want it to tell you what no-deco time you have left or how much deco you need to do then you want a computer. Bottom timers can tell you lots of info like dive-time, depth, temperature but they won't tell you about deco obligation so you'll have to plan your dive some other way.

Phate
21-08-2014, 07:17 AM
So my Suunto D4i - where that tells me how much no-deco time I have left along with 3-at-5 stop thats a dive computer.

But the X-Deep Black out of the box is just a fancy bottom timer, so in effect couldn't fully replace it until it had the software upgrade to EANx?

jb2cool
21-08-2014, 07:29 AM
Correct unless you have some other way of planning your dives. Remember, we all probably learned to plan our dives before getting in the water and used a basic depth gauge and watch during training, the bottom timer will replace these.

Phate
21-08-2014, 07:33 AM